Sisters, Part I

Sisters.

This topic means so much to me that I decided to split it into two posts. Today I’m going to talk about the sisterly love between my our little peanuts, and tomorrow I’m going to talk about what being a sister means to me. So stay tuned!

*~*~*

When I was pregnant with Baby H, Little O could not stop talking about “Baby Sis.” She patted my belly, she kissed my belly, she talked to my belly…it was quite possibly the sweetest thing ever. We didn’t need to worry about Little O adjusting to having a sister– she loved her already!

So you can imagine our surprise when Baby H arrived and Little O wasn’t such a fan. It’s not that she didn’t like Baby H, exactly, it’s just that she didn’t really know what to think about her. 

Luckily, it only took a few weeks for Little O to take on her most prized role to date. 

And to start showing us that she loved Baby H just as much as we did.

 

Lately, Little O has been exceptionally sweet and affectionate with Baby H. It kind of makes me tear up a little bit when I see how fiercely she loves her little sister already. 

 

 

And how Baby H absolutely lights up when her big sis is around. 

In her own way, Little O is already teaching Baby H about the important things in life. Elmo being one of the major highlights, of course. 

I look at our two beautiful, amazing little girls and wonder how their relationship will grow through the years.

Will they always be the best of friends?

Will they always support each other and stand by one another, no matter where life’s journey takes each of them?

Will they feel the unbelievable love that their father and I have for them, and will that shine through in their relationship with each other? And in their relationships with others throughout their lives?

 

Wondering. Hoping. Praying. Wishing. I did a lot of this during my first 26 years on this earth, but the second I became a mother, those words took on a whole new meaning.

Each day, I wonder who my children will grow up to be.

I hope they feel so safe, so happy, so secure each night when we tuck them into bed that they have only happy thoughts of the day behind them and even happier thoughts of the days ahead.

I pray that they are healthy and happy. That they find true love and fulfillment in their lives. That they know they always have a family behind them 110% of the way.

And I simply wish that they always stay true to themselves and to each other.

Because at the end of the day, you can always count on your sister to laugh with you, to cry with you and to make you feel better about anything and everything. 

What’s not to love about that?

Counting My Kisses: I’m sure there will be a bump or two on the road, but I hope Little O and Baby H’s relationship is as smooth as it possibly can be throughout their lives. Everything is a little easier to handle with a beloved sibling by your side.

 

5 thoughts on “Sisters, Part I

  1. Ams ~~~~ by far my most very favorite thing that you have ever wrote!! Having a sister is having a forever friend, and someone who knows you better than anyone in the world. I hope our two baby grandgirlies will be best friends, accepting and relishing the wonderful gifts that God has blessed them with.

    • Thanks Mom! Beautifully stated.🙂 We are so very blessed, and so are our little girls– they will always have each other to count on!

Leave a Reply

