I’ll be there for you

My parents have always said that they could have had a dozen kids…if only they wouldn’t have gotten sick. No colds, flu or broken bones to speak of.

I never really understood what they meant until I had little ones of my own.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After all, who doesn’t take their child’s health for granted?

I was an absolute wreck during Little O’s first cold when she was a few months old. I was definitely that momma who called the pediatrician’s office once a day with questions for the nurse. Typical new momma move. The nurses very kindly and patiently walked me through the same set of instructions each day until Little O cleared her sniffles.

As Little O got older, I got more and more comfortable with taking care of colds, ear infections and even one scary bout of croup. You gain confidence with each experience. You learn to respond to your child’s needs, and you take comfort in knowing that sometimes your presence is the only thing that can make them feel better.

In Baby H’s case last night, being there for her was the only thing I could do.

We had one of those nights that were so long and miserable that you think that they quite possibly will never end. Baby H has been struggling with an ear infection, and after 4 doses of the antibiotic, we thought she was on the road to recovery.

Until last night around midnight.

Screams. From our very, very happy baby who always sleeps through the night.

Startled, I rushed into her room and picked her up. I rocked her and calmed her down, got her back to sleep and put her back in the crib.

Twenty minutes later, more screams. More sobs.

This time when I picked Baby H up, she wouldn’t stop rubbing her ears. Or crying. I finally resorted to singing “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” about a hundred times– which if you’ve heard me sing, is not the most soothing sound in the world– until she finally quieted down and fell asleep again in my arms. I placed her in the crib and crawled back into bed.

Twenty minutes later, more screams.

Repeat all night long.

Needless to say, Baby H went back to the doctor first thing in the morning. Turns out the first antibiotic wasn’t doing much– her ear was still red and inflamed– so we switched to a stronger antibiotic and hoped for the best.

Baby H responded by taking a four hour nap.

As I watched her sweetly sleep– her face finally relaxed and out of pain– I offered a prayer of thanksgiving that this ear infection was the hardest cross we’ve had to bear with Baby H.

I closed my eyes and prayed for all of those families in this world who have incredible burdens they are carrying right now. For those families who need a lot of love and faith and hope and grace right now, to get them and their children through rough days. For all those parents who would give anything, absolutely anything to take away their child’s suffering.

It’s both the gift and the curse of being a parent. You love with your whole heart, your whole being, so when they hurt, you hurt. Badly.

As I get ready for bed tonight, I’m going to be hoping for a smoother night with Baby H. But if we do have an encore performance of last night, I will do my best to keep it in perspective.

And to use that awake time to send strength, courage and lots of prayers to those families who need it most right now.

 

Counting My Kisses: I’m thankful our Baby H is starting to turn the corner with her ear infection. More importantly, I’m grateful for the blessing of continued health for our family and loved ones. And for those out there who need some extra prayers tonight…they are headed your way.

 

{Only 3 more days to enter into our fabulous Patticake Posh giveaway! Make sure you comment on this post and become a follower of Counting My Kisses by midnight on Thursday, July 30th to win a custom birthday hat for the little loved one in your life!}

 

 

1 thought on “I’ll be there for you

Leave a comment