4th of July

Yesterday was America’s birthday. It was also my birthday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

{Enjoying my first birthday cake many years ago}

 

When I was really little, my parents told me that the 4th of July parade was just for me. So were the fireworks. And the fantastically fun neighborhood party.

Brilliant, really. Of course, when I was old enough to finally figure out that there was a much greater meaning to the holiday than just my birthday, I was a tiny bit devastated. It may or may not still be a point of teasing from all of my siblings to this day.

But I digress.

I’ve always loved the 4th of July. I’m positive it would be one of my favorite holidays even if it weren’t my birthday.

It’s the greatest day—almost everyone is off work, relaxed and excited to get together. People don’t do yard work or hit big sales on the 4th of July. They fire up the grill, cannonball into a pool and enjoy an honest-to-goodness, old-fashioned day off.

I have amazing memories from the 4th of Julys from my childhood. Going to the parade was my favorite—clapping along to the band, scouring the ground for candy, cheering for the clowns that rode by on unicycles.

The parade was followed by the world’s most fun swim party at our neighbor’s house. We swam and swam and swam until our parents called us out of the pool for dinner. And then we swam a little more.

And then, after grilled hot dogs and chips and birthday cake and ice cream, we piled into the car and camped out under the stars, waiting for the fireworks to begin.

Those were the 4th of Julys of my youth. Best. Day. Ever. Each and every year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are your favorite 4th of July memories? Share in the comment section below!

And on behalf of our little family…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

we hope you had a great holiday weekend!

Counting My Kisses: We had a wonderful time celebrating the 4th with family and friends. Lots of things to be thankful for this weekend– we toasted to my parents on their 34th wedding anniversary, my sister and soon-to-be brother-in-law had a fabulous wedding shower, and America celebrated its 235th birthday (luckily I’m not quite that old yet!). It was great to remember the 4th of Julys from my childhood, and it’s so fun to now share this special holiday with our sweet little girls.

3 thoughts on “4th of July

  1. Amy, I have such special memories of all of our Fourth of July's as well. It was such a treat to spend your birthday with all of our wonderful neighbors === always so much fun. Do you remember the dune buggy ride through the farmer fields??? The faster Jeff went, the more you girls screamed. Lucky us and lucky you to have the BEST birthday of the year.

  2. Fourth of July celebrations have always been special to me. My early years were spent at the St. Rosario Fireworks at the Foot. It was the biggest around and everyone I ever knew went. As an adult, the Fourth of July means LBI and a weekend at the Beach with family. This years was probably the best snuggling with my beautiful grandboys. Their eyes just filled with wonder.

  3. Fourth of July…aka your birthday is the best holiday! My favorite memory would be going to the fireworks as a family! Throwing the blanket down at Wirth Park and laying back to enjoy the show! Little O and Baby H will soon be old enough to enjoy that experience as well!🙂

Leave a Reply

