Reflections of Motherhood

If you could go back in time and give your pre-parenthood self some advice, what would it be?

This cool Reflections of Motherhood project by Nummies {maker of maternity bras} really touched my heart today. It gives real answers to the question, “what advice would you give to your expecting self?”

It’s worth the few minutes it takes to watch the video– and please pass it along to any friends, mommas and mommas-to-be who might enjoy it. {I first saw it at Confessions from a Work-At-Home Mom— thanks to Elizabeth for inspiring this post!}

 

Here’s what I’d tell myself:

~*~ It’s worth it. Every single minute.

~*~ Your heart will ache with love.

~*~ Stretch marks are beautiful.

~*~ The baby will sleep through the night. Eventually.

~*~ Be strong. Be proud. Be confident. By God’s grace, you have created a miracle.

 

And most importantly…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What would you tell yourself? Share in the comments section below– I can’t wait to hear your words of wisdom!

 

Counting My Kisses: I’m thankful for the positive, supportive messages in the Reflections of Motherhood video. Becoming a momma is such an incredible gift– but along with that gift comes many sleepless nights, fears and second-guessing {at least for me!}. That’s where “have faith” comes in.

Have faith in yourself– you were chosen to be this baby’s momma for a reason.

Have faith in your partner– he/she wants to be a part of this amazing journey with you.

Have faith in your baby– they are falling in love with you too. You’re their person.

And lastly, have faith in God’s confidence that you can do this. Because you can.

6 thoughts on “Reflections of Motherhood

  1. Awwwww, love it!!!! I especially love that you did the words on the card, just like in the video. I agree with each one of your "instructions" to your pregnant self!

  2. Amy, if I had to tell myself just one comment before I had my first child, I would say THINGS DO NOT HAVE TO BE PERFECT TO BE PRETTY DARN GOOD. It took me four kiddos to realize that, and I would have saved myself alot of angst if I had known that in 1980 at the beginning of my motherhood journey. Lots of wonderful advice on that video. Thanks to Elizabeth for bringing it to all of our attention.

    • Very good advice, Mimi! You are absolutely right– you don't have to be perfect to be an amazing momma. Things can be great even if they aren't 100% perfect!🙂

  3. Motherhood is a very difficult job, but it is the most rewarding job out there. Whether you are a stay at home mom, a working mom or a stay at home mom who is also, a working from home mom, you need to constantly remind yourself of how very important your "position" is. There is none like it. Your heart is always with your children and all that you do reflects that love. There is no such thing as perfection, with this job. We just all do the best we can do and make adjustments along the way, when we see something isn't going the way we planned it. As I reflect back over the 37 years I have been a parent, I can only say, "Enjoy every minute of it". Don't wish the time away, when things get tough. Realized how very important you are to this young soul and it comes back to you a million times. Love with all your heart……I believe ,you Amy, have learned this at a very young age and I say, "Bravo to you and Mimi".

    • Thanks Aunt Diann! Such beautiful words of wisdom. I love how you mentioned that there is no such thing as perfection with this job– you just do the best you can and adjust along the way. A wonderful way to look at being a momma! And "love with all of your heart" couldn't be more true– I've only been a mother a little over two years, and loving these little girls with all of my heart has come back and made me a better person a hundred times over! Thanks for sharing those wonderful thoughts!

Leave a Reply

