Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Hi, friends!

I’m currently recovering from the 464-mile solo drive to my parent’s house with both girls {more on that tomorrow}. In the meantime, I’m going to share one of my favorite recipes: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread.

It’s easy and incredibly tasty– and the best part is that it uses items that you most likely already have in stock. Whenever we have a few over-ripe bananas, this is my standby recipe. It’s a huge hit with the Hubs and Little O, as well as family and friends!

Ingredients

~ 3/4 cup white sugar

~ 1.5 cups mashed bananas {about 3 large bananas}

~ 3/4 cup vegetable oil

~ 2 eggs

~ 2 cups flour

~ 1/2 to 1 cup chocolate chips {depending on how chocolatey you like it!}

~ 1 teaspoon baking soda

~ 2 teaspoons vanilla

~ 1/2 teaspoon baking powder 

~ Mixing bowl

~ Loaf pan {or two loaf pans}

~ Spatula

~ Wooden spoon

 

Directions:

~ Heat oven to 325 degrees.

~ Grease loaf pan with shortening. 

~ Slice bananas; put in mixing bowl. 

~ Mash bananas. 

~ Mix sugar, mashed bananas, oil and eggs together with wooden spoon. 

~ Mix in remaining ingredients. 

{Mixture will be pasty at the beginning– keep stirring!} 

{When it looks like this, it’s ready for the oven.} 

~ Add in chocolate chips {the best part!}. 

~ Pour mixture into loaf pan. 

{Depending on how much batter I have, I like to split it up into two pans– otherwise it takes too long to bake and it makes a HUGE loaf!}. 

~ Bake about 40+ minutes for two loaves, 60+ minutes for one loaf. Bake until toothpick comes out of the center cleanly. Let cool for about 10 minutes, then loosen the sides from the loaf pan and remove from pan. 

~ Once it’s finished cooling, I usually wrap the loaves in plastic wrap and place them inside a zip freezer bag to keep them fresh. 

~ Slice and serve. 

And most importantly….enjoy!!! 

Counting My Kisses: I love this recipe– it was shared with me at one of my bridal showers by a beloved relative, and now I’m excited to share it with you too! If you are interested in sharing a recipe with Counting My Kisses, shoot me an email at — amy@countingmykisses.com. I’d love to share one of your favorite dishes on the blog!

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. I was staring at the way too ripe for eating bananas on my counter just this morning thinking "I need to make bread." I will be trying this tonight! Thanks for the inspiration🙂 Can't wait to hear about the wedding!

  2. This looks so good.Im pretty sure that Id have the same look of excitement as the little one pictured. I go crazy for banana bread and with chocolate chips. YUMM!

    • Truth be told, I get pretty darn excited every time I make this recipe too. Soooo yummy!🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

