The Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer

I’m in love with our new camera.

We’ve had it for a few months now, and after hours and hours and hours of practice, I feel like I’m settling into it quite nicely. Finally.

It was a long time coming. And it wasn’t without hard work– or help.

Say hello to my handy-dandy learn-how-to-use-your-fabulous-camera guide.

I’ve read it three times already. No joke.

The book, titled The Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer, is for people just like me– we bought a fancy dSLR camera, we have lofty photography goals, we have no idea how to make them happen.

Enter Katie Evans, professional photographer.

Katie knows how to take amazing pictures. Check out her blog, it’s full of gorgeous shots of everything to her adorable kiddos to Halloween decorations. It’s also full of great photography tips, like 5 Ways to Improve your Child Photography. I’m a new follower of her site and I’m going to be checking it regularly– Katie is full of golden nuggets of photography insight!

But first things first. In order to get the most out of my camera– and all subsequent pictures– I needed to learn the basics. Katie’s book is perfect for that.

I thought I’d get overwhelmed quickly once I started the book, but it’s clearly organized and completely on-target. Katie makes it easy to grasp the concepts she’s talking about– her writing style is easy to read, always a bonus when you’re learning something new. 

As I was reading the really important parts– like the ISO/aperture/shutter speed section–I was able to actually hear my brain click into place. After all, that information is the nuts & bolts of how dSLR cameras operate, and getting a grasp on those numbers on my screen was a huge step in the right direction for me.

My other favorite sections? The lighting chapter, which is packed full of great information and tips on how to get the pictures you want. It was this chapter that helped give me the courage to flip my camera dial off of “Auto” and onto Aperture Priority– resulting in clearer, more vibrant pictures. My camera & I both did a celebratory happy dance. 

I also loved the Composition– Telling the Story chapter. For me, that I why I wanted a dSLR camera in the first place– to help me tell a story through my pictures. All of Katie’s insights really hit home, especially her tips on framing the picture, using alternate angles and how to fill the shot. 

 

As I’ve said, I have read the book three times already. For me, it has been a fantastic tool that has really helped me get more comfortable with my dSLR camera. It also taught me that just like with anything new, trial & error is okay. Just keep taking photos, adjusting your settings and learning the ins & outs of your camera–soon it will become an extension of yourself and those pictures you’ve been imagining will come to life right in front of your eyes.

If you are interested in buying The Key to Taking Pictures Like a Professional Photographer, check out Katie’s website to order– the ebook is on sale through the end of 2011.

You can also stop by Katie’s blog for lots of great photo tips, and pop by her Facebook page to say hi!

I’m so very thankful to Katie for allowing me the chance to review her book– and in turn, making me a much better photographer. This book has been perfect for me, and I feel so much more confident in my photography skills. I highly recommend it to all novice photographers out there!

 

Counting My Kisses: It’s the best feeling when something you’ve been trying to learn finally clicks into place. This book was “it” for me with my new camera, and I feel like our pictures have been reaping the rewards ever since I took the camera off “Auto.” Thanks to Katie for creating such a straight-forward, informative book-– I know I will be referencing it for years to come!

 

{I received a complimentary copy of this book to review; all thoughts & opinions expressed in this post are my own}.

Leave a Reply

