Less cancer, more birthdays

On my dresser sits two very special pictures– one of my Grandpa Dave and one of my Papa.

They both passed away from cancer more than 10 years ago.

Some days, it’s hard to believe they’ve both been gone that long. When I close my eyes, I can still hear Papa clapping his hands and saying, “hello, hello hello!”– his trademark expression. And I can also hear Grandpa’s deep, contagious laugh– he would start roaring with laughter and you immediately started cracking up too.

But then I look at how far I’ve come in those years, and the reality hits me: it really has been that long. I was 15 when we lost Papa and 16 when we lost Grandpa; now I’m a 29-year-old wife and mother.

I look at the Hubs and think that both grandfathers would have loved him. Grandpa would have invited the Hubs to sit down and watch one of the three sporting events he had blaring in his den 24/7. And Papa would have loved talking about investments & hearing the Hubs’ work stories, while sharing a few of his own.

And of course they would have gotten a kick out of the girls as well– Little O’s incessant toddler chatter & Baby H’s constant dozing would have brightened their day and brought lots of smiles.

I wish that cancer hadn’t taken them away from our family. But I do know that it’s up to us to try to conquer cancer once and for all. The American Cancer Society has a powerful cancer awareness campaign going on right now– a campaign which I strongly connect with and feel honored to be a part of.

This short clip below encompasses the goal of the American Cancer Society: A world with less cancer and more birthdays.

Doesn’t that sound wonderful?

I think so, too.

Counting My Kisses: I’m thankful to be a part of the American Cancer Society’s Birthday campaign– I think it’s a wonderfully positive way to promote cancer awareness. Being a part of the campaign also helped me to pause & remember how our family has been personally affected by cancer– and to resolve to do what we can to get rid of cancer, once and for all.

Disclosure: This post is sponsored by the American Cancer Society. All thoughts & opinions expressed in this post are my own.

Leave a Reply

