5 Favorite Books of All Time {listable life}

Happy Listable Life day, all!

Today’s topic is very near & dear to my heart:

5 Favorite Books of All Time

I love reading. At the risk of sounding like a cheesy public service announcement, I think it’s one of the best things we can do for ourselves. I love taking a little break from life and letting myself fall into a book. It’s good for the soul. Probably for my sanity, too.

And reading to the girls? I adore it. Even when we’ve read Pinkalicious seven thousand times in a 24-hour period and there is no hope in sight for switching to a new book, I still love it.

I know that years from now, I’ll remember Little O snuggling into my side with a book, or Baby H squealing and pointing to pictures during our bedtime story. It’s so amazing to bring stories to life for them. Even if it is the same story over..and over…and over again.

Without further ado, let’s get to the list, shall we?

My 5 Favorite Books of All Time

1. Charlotte’s Web

Source: google.com via Lauren on Pinterest

 

I had to start off with a childhood classic! I loved this book when I was a little girl, and I have wonderful memories of cozying up with my mom & reading it after school. I’m thinking a copy of this might show up in Little O’s Easter basket this year~ I’d love to start a keepsake book collection for both of our girls!

2. Matilda

Source: google.com via Candyce on Pinterest

 

One of my absolute favorites growing up~ I’m sure I read it at least a dozen times. I was also semi-convinced that I could knock over glasses of water with my eyes, just like Matilda {I most certainly cannot, in case you were wondering}. Such a wonderful story that helped my imagination soar~ this book was one of my early inspirations for wanting to become a writer!

3. The Catcher in the Rye

 

I feel like this book is just the quintessential coming-of-age book. I read it in middle school & was equally amused & perplexed by Holden Caulfield. Catcher in the Rye is the book that sticks out in my mind from those early teenage years. Well, that and the Sweet Valley High series. Those books were definitely awesome…but not quite as literary.

4. The Art of Racing in the Rain

Source: google.com via Elizabeth on Pinterest

 

This book was recommended by Corinne in my Summer Book Roundup post,  and I absolutely LOVED it. As in, I tell everyone looking for a good read to pick this one up. It’s funny, it’s moving, it touched my heart in so many different ways. A big thank-you to Corinne for that wonderful recommendation~ it’s definitely on the top of my Favorite Books Ever list!

5. The Kite Runner

Source: google.com via Alexis on Pinterest

 

This book was achingly beautiful…for me, it was hard to read but impossible to put down. I’ve read it twice and I loved it even more the second time. This book is outside of my usual book comfort zone, but I’m so glad I’ve read it. It helped open my eyes to a part of the world that I needed to know more about.

 

What are some of your favorite books? Leave a comment below, I’m excited to see your list!

And in case you missed out on any Listable Life posts, you can check them out here:

Have a great day!

Counting My Kisses: Kind of an eclectic gathering of books, no?! A few BIG favorites that aren’t on the list: The Harry Potter series {I can’t WAIT to read them with the girls in a few years}, The Hunger Games series {the Hubs has even agreed to see the movie with me} and lots of mystery/suspense books {I especially have a soft spot for Lisa Gardner}. Next up on my Must Read list? The Expats by Chris Pavone. I can’t wait to get started on it when I find the time! What’s on your list?

14 thoughts on “5 Favorite Books of All Time {listable life}

  1. Love these books…Read all but the art of racing in the rain…i will have to put that on my must read list! Kite runner movie was great too. Have a great day🙂

    • Brittney, I totally forgot that Kite Runner was made into a movie, we’ll have to add that to our Must Watch list! The Art of Racing in the Rain is AWESOME, let me know what you think if you read it. Hope you are enjoying this amazing weather!🙂

    • Corinne, I have you to thank for introducing The Art of Racing in the Rain into my life! It really is SUCH a wonderful book. Excellent taste, as always!🙂

    • Sarah~ I know, Charlotte’s Web had completely fallen off my radar until this post! Now I can’t wait to buy it & read it with my girls.🙂 So happy you stopped by, hope you’re having a great day!

  2. Reading IS SO good for the soul! And you know, there is a Silverlicious and Goldilicious too!🙂 I’ve heard Kite Runner is good – it does look like it would be a difficult read though. Thanks for linking up!

    • Nicole~ luckily our daughters haven’t realized there is more to the Pinkalicious series than just the pink book!🙂 Kite Runner is definitely an amazing read…it’s tough but it’s impossible to put down, I highly recommend it {you know…in all your free time! Lol!}.

    • Thanks for passing along your book choices, Megan~ I love it! I definitely have read just about every Jodi Piccoult book {happy to see Nineteen Minutes on there!}. I haven’t thought about Where the Heart Is in a few years, but wow, what a great book! The Harry Potter, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants & Twilight series are all also amazing for their own reasons.🙂 Love it!

      I’ll keep checking back on your list~ thanks so much for stopping by!🙂

Leave a Reply

