The spring photo shoot

Confession: On occasion, I like to think of myself as an amature photographer.

I really enjoy taking pictures. I even manage to occasionally get some great shots, which helps to boost my spirits & my conviction that I’m getting the hang of this photography thing.

And then my children send me crashing back to earth.

Take our spring photo shoot, for example. Beautiful setting. Gorgeous dresses. Perfectly matching headbands. A 3 adults: 2 children ratio.

And yet…my adorable little subjects were not so inclined to cooperate.

Take a look:

1. The Baby H sob fest. 

2. The don’t-touch-me-I’m-having-a-diva-baby-moment face.

3. The desperate distraction: who wants to play with keys?

4. The I’ve-never-been-more-miserable-in-my-life face. 

5. The cheesy toddler “I’m thinking” face {note the keys in Baby H’s hand}.

6. The here-Baby-H-maybe-you’ll-stop-crying-if-I-untie-your-dress moment. 

7. The “I’m sorry, you want us to smile?” face.

8. The sister headlock. 

9. And the subsequent, get-away-from-me-headlocks-are-no-fun moment. 

 

Sigh.

Out of sheer desperation~ I knew we wouldn’t be able to get the girls to sit next to each other again~ I started singing the Itsy Bitsy Spider to brighten their moods. My parents chimed in behind me, and before we knew it, the girls were actually smiling.

Here’s the winner from the day:

 

Nevermind that Little O’s arms are in the “out came the sun” position…they both are smiling & look happy. After 533 pictures...I’ll take it.

And so wraps up another photo shoot adventure. As I collapsed into the car, sweating & exhausted, after our hour-long please-I’m-begging-you-to-smile session, my parents assured me that it won’t always be this hard. The girls will want to sit together & sweetly hold hands one day.

We’re just not there yet.

In the meantime, I’m going to take these photo shoots for what they are worth: a good laugh.

Have a great weekend, friends!

Counting My Kisses: I’m exhausted just looking at these pictures! Luckily we did manage to get some keepers {you can see a few of them here}. But even the {many} not-so-great shots manage to capture the moods & expressions of the girls at this point in their young lives~ and smile or no smile, that is precious to me. A big thank you to my parents for your help~ I couldn’t have done it without you!

4 thoughts on “The spring photo shoot

  1. ahhhahaha I love your photo shoot posts! so precious! Those dresses are adorable (great job picking them out, Mimi) and the girls are cute even when they aren’t smiling! I really love how you narrate each picture – and accurately may I add. Love the winner photograph! Keep snapping pictures! They are great!🙂

    • Thanks Jen!🙂 Glad our photo shoots can provide entertainment for you.🙂 I think Mom & Dad want/need a break on the photo assistant gig, so maybe you & Uncle C can help next time! xoxo

  2. Okay Amy === I think this was our fifth photo shoot with the girls. PLEASE let’s hire a professional. Each session takes a
    few years off of our lives. Dad loses 3 pounds of sweat and I
    break out in a rash. It is REALLY stressful. Especially when Baby H put wood chips in her mouth and Little O almost walked into the lake. People get paid for this. === let’s help the economy out and hire someone who is an expert at this🙂.

    • Not to worry, Mom, I just recruited Jenna & Chris to help with the next photo shoot! Thanks for all of your help so far…just think of the wonderful memories we’re making!🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

