Review: Rascal Flatts “Changed”

Confession: since receiving the new Rascal Flatts CD, Changed, in the mail last week, the girls & I have had multiple spontanious dance parties in the kitchen.

We can’t help it. The album just makes us want to dance!

The Hubs & I are big Rascal Flatts fans~ we went to one of their concerts in our dating years, and their music has mirrored our relationship as we’ve grown & evolved from carefree college sweethearts to fun young parents {I swear we used to be cool!}. Truth be told, Rascal Flatts’ mega-hits “Fast Cars & Freedom” from 2005 could very well be an anthem for the Hubs & I right now. 

Rascal Flatts has also grown & evolved quite a bit since their 2000 debut. Gary LeVox, Jay DeMarcus and Joe Don Rooney are now family men, and their music now contains a level of maturity & heart that I really connect with.

Changed encompasses a new direction in Rascal Flatts, and I think they nailed it. Their music is spot-on & covers a variety of song types, from ballads to rocking-out-drumming-on-your-steering-wheel hits.

It’s also fun. Little O, Baby H & I dance around to “Hot in Here” at least four times a day~ it’s one of our favorite tracks. It makes me think of carefree summer days and driving around with the windows down & the sunshine blazing.

And the first released single from Changed, “Banjo” is simply Rascal Flatts at its very best. Fast-paced and catchy, I have no doubt it will be a breakaway hit this summer. It had the girls & I clapping along from the first cord!

There are also some deeper songs that really resonated with me. One of my favorites was “A Little Home”~ it took me right back to my dorm room freshman year & just needing a piece of home {check out the details in #2 of this post!}. I also loved “Sunrise” ~ the lyrics are so beautiful & filled with hope. My favorite line is “we’re going to change your life, one sunrise at a time.” Love!

If you’re a country fan & love Rascal Flatts like we do, I can assure you that Changed delivers. Have you checked it out already? Leave your thoughts in the comment section below, I’d love to hear what you think!

Counting My Kisses: I’m so appreciative I had the chance to review one of my favorite bands. Thanks to Rascal Flatts & the One2One Network for such a fun opportunity! You can check out their 2012 tour schedule here if you want to catch their Changed tour this summer. The Hubs & I might just have to schedule a date night!

{Disclosure: I was not compensated to write this review. All thoughts & opinions are, as always, my own!}.

Leave a Reply

