Derby Day! {or…Baby H’s parade of hats}

Once upon a time…

many, many years ago…

the Hubs & I fell in love…with horse racing.

Who’s with me?!

You really can’t beat the excitement. The outfits. The hats!

And the horses? Amazingly gorgeous. It gives me chills to be that close to such beautiful creatures.

You get it: we love horse racing. We highly recommend it. And we’d quite possibly pick it up as a hobby if 1. we were independently wealthy and 2. we lived near a race track.{Neither at the moment, sadly}.

And now that our lifestyle has changed a bit {read: two small children}, the possibility of enjoying a day of horse racing is just not in the cards right now.

So what are two horse-racing lovers to do?

Get your children excited about horses, of course!

Say hello to Baby H, who adored having a reason to model every hat we owned on Saturday. 

Pretty darn cute, no?

Of course, I had to break out my actual horse-racing hat {yes, I have one!} for the Derby. 

And so did the Hubs:

Just kidding!

But the Hubs did find a little companion who was also enthralled with the race: Little O. She asked a million questions about the Derby, and the Hubs patiently answered each & every one. It was so sweet to watch them snuggled up together. Love!

I’m also loving how Baby H wanted to actually sit on her horse during the race. Clearly she was pretty taken with the Derby as well {with good reason, what a close race!}:

Although the Hubs & I weren’t in the Derby infield this year, we still had a super fun experience with our girls. It was so cool to see how excited both of the girls got about something that means a lot to the Hubs & I.

Not to mention… I wouldn’t have missed Baby H’s parade of hats for the world

I think this one might be a framer. Love love love!

How was your weekend? Did you watch the Derby? What a race!

Counting My Kisses: It’s so much fun to start our own little traditions with the girls. Little O asked all day on Sunday when she could watch “the beautiful horses race in the circle again”…so who knows, maybe a trip to the race track will be in our future! We had a lovely weekend full of together moments {more on that in a few days!}, and I am starting this week with a smile on my face & excitement in my heart. How about you? Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Derby Day! {or…Baby H’s parade of hats}

  1. How adorable! The last photo is definitely a framer.🙂

    I wonder how much more excited your Little O would be when she sees the horses up close or when she gets to ride on one.

    Funny because just yesterday, my daughter said she wants to go to “farm school” because she wants to learn how to ride a horse.

    Having family traditions is a great idea, especially when they are established while the kids are still young. We must maximize the years when our children still want to spend time with us.😉

    • Thanks Jayme!🙂 So cute that your daughter wants to go to “farm school”…how adorable is that?!🙂 And I’m totally with you, we must maximize our years when our kiddos still think we’re cool to hang out with. Lol! Thanks so much for stopping by!🙂

  2. I love the determined look on Baby H’s face in the pic of her on her horse (left Pic). She is in the race and clearly she will be the winner! Thanks for sharing!!!

  3. Love these pictures! We were watching the derby as well and Scooby was intently looking at the TV! Love that Baby H wanted to watch the race on patches. So adorable🙂

    • Jen~ yes, Patches was & continues to be a HUGE hit, thanks so much!🙂 Love that Baby H wanted to watch the race while riding her horsie.🙂 Too cute!

  4. So sweet. I love the photo with the pink hats! And the one where she is wearing the too big hat. Too cute!

    Thanks for sharing with us. I really love your blog design. It is so simple and pleasing. I am heading to your blog design add from your sidebar to check it out.

    I am visiting from SITS Spring Fling today. Glad to “meet” you.

    Enjoy the rest of your week!

    • LaVonne~ aww thanks! So happy you stopped by from SITS!🙂 Glad to “meet” you too. Glad you enjoyed the blog design as well, I love working with Mandy. Let me know if you have any questions!🙂

    • Adriane~ thanks!! Awww so sweet, I think my little ones are pretty excited about horses after the Derby as well.🙂 So happy you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

