5 things I’m proud of {listable life}

So clearly the long weekend threw my blog schedule off a bit this week.

But that’s okay~ we’re going to embrace my current summer zen & roll with it.

 

Also? Today’s Listable Life topic is super fab, so let’s get to it!

5 Things I’m Proud Of

1. The girls

I think I’ve mentioned once or twice before that I’ve always known I’ve wanted to a be a mom. Always.

But nothing could have prepared me for that instant that I actually became a mom. I worried the entire 9 months I was pregnant with Little O that I wouldn’t know what to do. What if I couldn’t take care of her? What if she cried all.the.time and I didn’t know how to make her stop? What if she wouldn’t sleep? Wouldn’t eat? What if, what if, what if…the list was endless.

And I worried the entire 9 months I was pregnant with Baby H. What were we thinking, having two kiddos so close together? What if they both were crying and I couldn’t get either of them to stop? What if Little O felt like we were trying to replace her, or Baby H felt like we weren’t giving her enough newborn attention? The What If list stretched on and on and on…

And yet, both instants that I was finally able to hold each of my daughters in my arms, I knew. I knew I could be enough for them. I knew I’d lay down my life in a second for them. I knew I’d love them fiercely and do everything in my power to keep them safe, happy, loved, protected, carefree and innocent. That my heart would just continue to grow & grow with love and admiration for this amazing children, and this beautiful gift of being their mother. Even on the crazy days.

I’m so proud I got over my What If lists…living in the present in a much more giggly, happy place to be.

 

2. The Hubs

Since the day we met 10 years ago, this man has been in my heart. Like, thunderstorm of butterflies in my heart.

Without getting horribly mushy, I’ll just simply say I’m so proud of him & everything he does for our family. And I’m so proud of us for always trying to put each other & our family first. It’s not easy and we’re not always perfect at it, but I feel so incredibly proud & lucky to be married to such an amazing guy.

Source: amazon.com via Karen on Pinterest

 

3. The move

Back in the heyday of our semi-newly-married-but-still-out-having-fun-with-our-friends-constantly lives {read: when we were cool}, the Hubs was offered a promotion at work. The catch? The promotion came with a 200-mile move back to his hometown~ a very nice place to live, but not exactly where we envisioned ourselves at 26 & 27.

We made the leap, and we made it quickly: from start to finish, we moved our entire lives in six weeks. Luckily, I was a full-time freelancer at the time, so the move didn’t impact my job. However, it impacted just about everything else. My social life. My routine. My sisters who both lived in the city we moved away from. My knowledge of how to get to the grocery store without needing a GPS. Not to mention that we left a gazillion friends behind & had to start fresh in our new town. It was a lot to adjust to in such a short time frame.

Flash-forward four years: we absolutely love it here. I can’t imagine living anywhere else right now. We brought our two daughters home from the hospital in this house; they both learned to roll over, crawl and walk in this house. We have made amazing new friends & have become part of this vibrant, active community. We are growing roots here~ and that really means something to the Hubs & I.

I’m so proud of us for making that flying leap. And so very thankful that we did.

 

4. Buying my first car. And my second first car. 

I was lucky enough to graduate from college in four years, head to Daytona Beach for a week to celebrate with our entire school, and then move home & land a job~ in my field!~ within a few weeks.

My first big purchase? A 2005 red Toyota Corolla. Brand new. Eight miles on the odometer. I bought it in June 2004 and drove it for two glorious months. I was so proud of that car~ and proud of the fact that I didn’t even need my parents to co-sign for me, since I was gainfully employed & all.

Until…one morning, as I was driving to work, a 16-year-old who had gotten her license the day before ran through a yield sign and crashed into my beautiful new car. Oh, and me too. Naturally I didn’t handle it well~ I remember sobbing to the police hysterically that I had only made two payments on it so far. Plus it was my car~ the first thing I had bought post-college, my first real grown-up purchase.

I’m still proud of that car, even though we were together only two short months. The replacement? Another red 2005 Toyota Corolla. Brand new. Only three miles on the odometer. Pretty sure our Toyota sales guy thought he had died & gone to heaven.

And I’m happy to say~ that car {named Ella, because I like to name my cars} & I have had a long, happy relationship together. She now accompanies the Hubs to & from work each day, and I take her out for the occasional childless Target run every few weeks. She’s a really good car, and although I occasionally think of my first car {named Lola, in case you were wondering}, Ella will always hold a special place in my heart.

 

5. Being a Godmother

I’m honored & blessed to be Cousin M’s Godmother. I mean really, look at this face. Could she be any cuter?!

Of course, I can’t take credit for any of Cousin M’s adorableness, but I do take my role of Godmother seriously. In addition to providing “spiritual tutelage” {a term coined by the Hubs’ own Godfather, Uncle Rog}, I have big plans to spoil my sweet Goddaughter whenever her momma isn’t watching. Extra cookie? Sure! More Cheerio mix? Coming right up. Possibly sneaking in a juice box here or there? Auntie Amy is your go-to girl. Just don’t tell your Mommy.

In all seriousness though, I can’t wait to keep celebrating Cousin M’s amazing achievements & being a cheerleader for her, no matter what activities she chooses to be a part of. I’m so proud to be her Godmother, and I hope that we share that special Godparent/Godchild connect that both the Hubs & I have enjoyed with our Godparents.

 

So that’s it {complete with my mini-tribute to the super fab Curly Girl Design}! What are you most proud of? Share in the comments section below and have a GREAT weekend!

Miss a Listable Life post? Catch up here! 

Counting My Kisses: Another super fab linkup with Moments that Define Life blog! I love how Listable Life helps me pause & really think about the good stuff. Today’s post made me all the more thankful for those proud moments in my life. Can’t wait to hear what’s on your list~ and I hope you have a wonderfully relaxing weekend!

4 thoughts on “5 things I’m proud of {listable life}

    • Michelle~ thank you! And yes, the girls *totally* have the Hubs wrapped around their little fingers, it’s the sweetest thing! Thanks for stopping by!🙂

  1. It’s amazing what we are capable of – children, big moves etc..you are stronger than you think! Loved your list and so glad you’re still enjoying Listable life! Thanks for stopping by and seeing all the linkers each week too! I noticed you read everyone.🙂 Very cool.

    • Thanks Nicole! You are right, we are stronger than we think!🙂 It’s super fun to read everyone’s Listable Life posts, I love how each post is so unique.🙂 I’ll be linking up Thursday, can’t wait to check out everyone’s lists this week!🙂

Leave a Reply

